Grow Your Own

Of Jam, Bread, Chooks and Gladioli

I’ve been on holiday for a couple of weeks, that is I’ve been off work, not holidaying away anywhere. I’ve spent a little time at the plot, but not much, as I’ve either been out with Ben or it’s been raining again, or just too hot. Mad weather. I’ve been on holiday for a couple of weeks, that is I’ve been off work, not holidaying away anywhere. I’ve spent a little time at the plot, but not much, as I’ve either been out with Ben or it’s been raining again, or just too hot. Mad weather.
Anyway, I’ve started to harvest in earnest. I’ve had broad beans, green beans, beetroot, carrots, spuds, onions, loads of herbs, rhubarb, raspberries and brambles. I’m getting to the point were most of what goes on the plate is self grown.

 


The fruit has mostly gone to jam making. So far I’ve done rhubarb, red currant and wild mint and rhubarb and bramble. I’ve also pickled some beetroot and knocked up the best batch of crusty bread I’ve done in a long time.

 


The chooks have been given the free range of the garden now that everything seems to be established. They’ve taken a shine to rhubarb leaves though, so it’s a good job there’s plenty on the plot. Mostly though they dig holes and bathe in the compost.


All this rain and sunshine has called for a lot of weeding, and a lot of weeding was done, baskets of it. I just can’t seem to keep up, it’s either pouring it down or too hot to go out in (I don’t do well in the heat, never have).

 


The gladioli are putting on a good show this year. It’s odd that there are only the black and red ones though. Last year there were lots of different colours, this year only two so far.

Flowers
And the last job to get done was the lifting of the onions. I’m impressed again, just like last year, they’re big and healthy and hardly any were lost.
Onions

Leave a Reply

